Fermilab scientists receive American Physical Society honors

Tuesday, October 19, 2021

Edited by Lisa Roberts

In mid-October, the American Physical Society awarded two prestigious prizes, the 2022 Panofsky Prize and the 2022 Wilson Prize, to four scientists at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory.

The W.K.H. Panofsky Prize in Experimental Particle Physics recognizes and encourages outstanding achievements in experimental particle physics. Fermilab’s Byron Lundberg, spokesman for the DONUT experiment, and Regina Rameika, along with two other scientists from different institutions, received the 2022 Panofsky Prize for their first direct observation of the tau neutrino through its charged-current interactions in an emulsion detector in 2000.

The Robert R. Wilson Prizefor Achievement in the Physics of Particle Accelerators recognizes and encourages outstanding achievements in the physics of particle accelerators. Stephen Holmes and Bill Foster received the 2022 Wilson Prize for their leadership in developing the modern accelerator complex at Fermilab, enabling the success of the Tevatron program that supports rich programs in neutrino and precision physics.

View the full story here: https://news.fnal.gov/2021/10/fermilab-scientists-receive-american-physical-society-honors/

Paid for by Bill Foster for Congress