Meet Bill Foster

Bill’s Professional Awards


Citation: “For leadership in developing the modern accelerator complex at Fermilab, enabling the success of the Tevatron program that supports rich programs in neutrino and precision physics.” (Link)

2011 – Elected Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science

1998 – Elected Fellow, American Physical Society

Citation: “For contributions to the development of large scale particle physics electronics, and for a leading role in the design of the permanent magnet based Fermilab Antiproton Recycler Ring.” on this 15th day of November, 1998

1989 – Rossi Prize for Cosmic Ray Physics

Citation: “The High Energy Astrophysics Division of the American Astronomical Society hereby awards the Bruno Rossi Prize for 1989 to the members of the IMB and Kamiokande High Energy Neutrino Collaborations. The prize is awarded for the dramatic and mutually confirming detection of the burst of neutrinos from supernova 1987A, which opened a new window on the cosmos beyond the solar system and provided the first direct data on the high-energy processes occurring in the centers of collapsed stars.”

1999 – IEEE/NPSS Particle Accelerator Science and Technology Award

Citation: “The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers [IEEE] Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society 1999 Particle Accelerator Science and Technology Award is presented to G. William Foster and Gerald P. Jackson for their leading roles in the conceptualization, design, and development of the first large scale application of permanent magnet technology for beam transport, in the form of the 8 GeV Booster to Main Injector transfer line and the Recycler Ring at Fermilab.”

1998 – Federal Energy and Water Management Award (Dept. of Energy)

Citation: “The Award is presented by the Federal Interagency Energy Policy Committee and the Department of Energy to recognize outstanding contributions toward increased energy efficiency, renewable energy and water conservation within the Federal sector. This is the premier energy award presented to Federal employees and draws attention to our increased Federal energy and water conservation efforts, as mandated by the Energy Policy Act of 1992 and Executive Order 12902 signed by President Clinton. It also underscores the Administration’s initiative to “reinvent government” by recognizing those efforts which save energy, reduce the Federal deficit, promote a cleaner environment and create a stronger economy.”

(co-recipients of this award included Fermilab physicist and Batavia Alderman Dr. James T. Volk, and Dr. Gerald Jackson of Fermilab.)

1999 – Fermilab Technology Award for Digital Photomultiplier Integrated Circuit

Citation: “Presented to William Foster in recognition of a valuable technology contribution of the Digital Photomultiplier Tube (DPMT) at the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory on the occasion of the 1999 Technology Awards Ceremony.”

(The team that Bill led in this development included Fermilab Engineers Ray Yarema, Tom Zimmerman, Jim Hoff, Maher Sarraj, and others)

Paid for by Bill Foster for Congress